sabrina-4-145678
When I say “Sabrina the Teenage Witch,” what image comes to mind for you?

This one?

Tumblr_mda1g6juG51rk5qdjo1_500
Or this one?

s79
Or perhaps even this one?

the_new_archie_sabrina_hour-show
Well, unless you’ve been reading her most recent comic series, I’m guessing it’s not this one:

02dc0a4c969898898f5dd3d5013bea52._UX640_QL80_TTD_
If you haven’t checked in on everyone’s favorite teenage witch lately, you may have missed the memo–Sabrina is scary as hell.

In fact, through four issues, I can honestly say Chilling Adventures of Sabrina is one of the scariest, most disturbing comics I’ve read in years. And if your familiarity with her is through the late 1990s TV show, holy cow are you in for a horror-filled treat. I mean, Salem the cat is still around, but he’s not voiced by Nick Bakay, and he’s not as happy-go-lucky as you might remember.

This series feels like a ’70s horror movie in the vein of The Exorcist or The Omen. Satanic rituals, ancient evils and human sacrifices are just some of what is to be found in the pages of Sabrina. But there’s also mystery, young love and the coming of age story of a young woman who is torn between two worlds.

There’s even some cameos from other Archie characters like Betty and Veronica, who actually play a pretty important role in the first story arc. But Greendale is a much darker place than Riverdale, as it holds many secrets–and many dangers–for Sabrina and those around her.

I cannot recommend this series highly enough to every horror fan, even if you are not a regular comic reader. There are some amazing horror comics out there right now, and Sabrina is one of the best.

You can grab the first four issues at your local comic shop, and they’re on ComiXology as well. For more on the series (as well as the great Afterlife with Archie), you can head to¬†archiehorror.com.