The Stranger Things Soundtrack is Out! Get it now!

It’s no secret that I love Stranger Things. In fact, I’m so bold as to say that I think it’s one of the best shows I’ve seen in my life. Yep. Seriously.



One of the things I love most about this show is the thing that my writing partner Brian LeTendre and I talk about a lot…music. Soundtrack is such a huge part of any successful horror movie or show. I’m a huge fan of John Carpenter for this reason. You know, the legendary director and composer behind some of the best horror soundtracks ever? (My favorite is the synth driven Halloween, Halloween II, Halloween III soundtracks but also include the Price of Darkness, They Live, The Fog (1984), Christine, etc.).

One of the things Brian and I bonded over originally, was our love of 70s and 80s rock and I love how the Stranger Things soundtrack includes some of the best rock from my favorite musical eras.


The  score is written by the band Survive and the soundtrack also includes amazing rock songs. As I’ m sure you agree, this combo really helped create the fantastic dark mood and nostalgic feel of the show.

Actually, the show’s creators, Matt and Ross Duffer, used the band Survive’s music to pitch the show to Netflix. According to Dixon and Stein (from the band Survive), once the show was picked up by Netflix, the directors “reached out to see if we were available to score the show. We discussed having a classic tone and feel to the music for the show, but being reserved enough that it wasn’t ’80s cheese, while offering a refreshing quality so [it] felt modern.”



The Stranger Things soundtrack is 100% pure sexiness and joy of horror synth.

I needed to know how I could get my hands on this sexy beast of a soundtrack and was tickled with delight to find that Netflix already had the soundtrack up on Spotify (oh thank goodness).

Listen to Stranger Things soundtrack for free on Spotify here:


Good news though. You can also own the original score. As I mentioned above you can buy the score. Currently it’s out on iTunes and you can buy part one here. And according to this article, you can get a the CD on September 16th and the 2nd installment of the Stranger Things score on CD on September 23rd.

If you want more from the band Survive, they also have a ton of stuff up on Bandcamp.


For those of us who are addicted to vinyl, I’m waiting for more details because I’d love to buy both the score and the 70s and 80s rock soundtrack and this score on vinyl. The band survive DOES have a new vinyl album coming out. Details are here. And according to this article, they will be releasing the vinyl score too. Please be true!


Here is the Strange Things track listing.

Stranger Things Season 1 Soundtrack – Volume 1 Tracklist:

01. Stranger Things
02. Kids
03. Nancy and Barb
04. This Isn’t You
05. Lay-Z-Boy
06. Friendship
07. Eleven
08. A Kiss
09. Castle Beyers
10. Hawkins
11. The Upside Down
12. After Sarah
13. One Blink For Yes
14. Photos in the Woods
15. Fresh Blood
16. Lamps
17. Hallucinations
18. Hanging Lights
19. Biking to School
20. Are You Sure?
21. Agents
22. Papa
23. Cops Are Good at Finding
24. No Weapons
25. Walking Through the Nether
26. She’ll Kill You
27. Run Away
28. No Autopsy
29. Dispatch
30. Joyce and Lonnie Fighting
31. Lights Out
32. Hazmat Suits
33. Theoretically
34. You Can Talk to Me
35. What Else Is There to Do?
36. Hawkins Lab


For now I’ll be over here, jamming on Spotify until the vinyl is here!




Love and Eggo waffles,

Jolene - Midnight Society Signatures





P.s. I think this is great. You can make your own Stranger Things gif right here for free and it’s rad. Look at the one I made for The Midnight Society.


Leave a Reply

Previous Post
Celebrate Stuart Gordon’s Birthday With These Lovecraft-Inspired Classics
Next Post
Birthday Time. X-Files Style.