Crisp leaves and creepy dolls, haunted houses and haunted theme parks, terrifying true Twitter threads like this one, and the fact that it’s National Candy Corn day, have me in the mood to share an amazing creepy story that you need to read.

I read Jennifer Donaldson’s Lies You Never Told Me and I really loved the voice, the fast-pace of the book, and the tricky plot that I didn’t see unraveling how it did. I love being surprised by a novel!

So when I found out that Jennifer Donaldson had a new book out, I said a big HELL YES, and got to reading! I have a full book review coming soon, but today we’re celebrating Halloween style with a book inspired cocktail and playlist to truly enjoy this book the way you should.

Oh, and thank you so much for the amazing Friya and Penguin Teen for my spooky package.

About I Know You Remember

Jennifer Donaldson is back with another twisted thriller perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and Gone Girl.

Zahra Gaines is missing.

After three long years away, Ruthie Hayden arrives in her hometown of Anchorage, Alaska to this devastating news. Zahra was Ruthie’s best friend–the only person who ever really understood her–and she vows to do whatever it takes to find her.

Zahra vanished from a party just days before Ruthie’s return, but the more people she talks to, the more she realizes that the Zahra she knew disappeared long before that fateful night. Gone is the whimsical, artistic girl who loved books and knew Ruthie’s every secret. In her place is an athlete, a partier, a girl with secrets of her own. Darker still are the rumors that something happened to Zahra while Ruthie was gone, something that changed her forever…

As Ruthie desperately tries to piece together the truth, she falls deeper and deeper into her friend’s new world, circling closer to a dangerous revelation about what Zahra experienced in the days before her disappearance–one that might be better off buried.

In her stunning follow-up to Lies You Never Told Me, Jennifer Donaldson once again delivers a propulsive thriller with a masterful twist, skillfully creating a world where nothing is quite as it seems.

Buy Links: Penguin Random HouseGoodreadsAmazon | Barnes & Noble

 

 

I Know You Remember Cocktail

Those that know me, know that I love a good book and drink pairing! So without further ado, I give you, the I Know You Remember cocktail.

Recipe: 

10 oz vodka
5 oz triple sec
2 oz bitters
1 c fresh-squeezed blood orange juice
2 c Cheerwine Cherry Soda
Ice
Grenadine, for rim garnish

Fill a large punch bowl with ice. Pour in vodka, triple sec, bitters, blood orange juice and Cheerwine. Stir well. Rim each glass with grenadine then fill with punch. Enjoy and repeat!

 

 

I Know You Remember Playlist

Playlists, playlists, playlists! I actually found a playlist that the author created (listen here on Spotify), but I also created one. Filled with spooky, dreamy, and music that makes me feel like it’s the soundtrack for the movie! Click here or on the image below to go to my playlist on Google Play Music.

 

 

A Very Spooky Pup Unboxing – Bookmail at My House

I think most of you know that I have some amazing fur babies and let me tell you, when my pups got wind that we had a new book and some candy in our lives, they went nuts! Check out what happened when I unboxed I Know You Remember from Penguin Random House with the book and fun, spooky extras.

Step 1: Cute, spooky pup must examine the contents of the package to see if she can eat any of it. Look how cute it’s wrapped.

 

Step 2: Spooky son will grab what he wants and claim it as his. He chose the fanny pack and the vampire teeth.

 

Step 3: Spooky son will make me feel guilty for reclaiming what is mine. But his teeth are already so good, he doesn’t need extras! SMILE!

Step 4: I’ll finally get what’s inside the package and be so happy! Thank you Friya, you’re the freaking best! Inside the box was this amazing book, Kit Kats (yum!), vampire teeth (with yummy (fake) blood candy, and the dopest fanny pack I have ever seen (it says READ YOUR FANNY OFF and I am here for it!).

 

Like I said, another blog post is coming with a review and more pictures where my pups aren’t trying to steal my book mail! LOL. But they can’t help it, they know a good book when they see it.

I’m so excited to share my thoughts and super pumped to introduce you to another great spooky read. Check out I Know You Remember, pair it with a good playlist and cocktail, and read your buns off!

And if you’re looking for another spooky read after that, check out my Giant Spooky MG & YA Book Twitter thread with lots of good suggestions from the Twitterverse.

Spooky ghosts and reading,

Jolene